Halcyon Days

valentine-hugo-99[1]

Halcyon days indeed;
The dragged down moments
The spaced out seconds
Our inert bodies
On the unmade
Mussed up bed
A grimy idyll in a rented flat;
Love without bounds
You bruise so easily
I like that about you,
I’ll smoke and drink incessantly
Nurse you into illness
I prefer you that way
With a haunted look
Around your grey eyes
Fever suffusing your sallow skin
Your breath sweet with distemper
Just for once you will have need of me
Of course I am going
To catch your sickness
Be rendered immobile
By this delirium
We know what is coming next
Once I recover you are gone
Out into the cold
Harsh light of day
Never to return, never to experience
Premonitions of indivisible diversity
Again never no never again
Manners forbade you leave just yet
You have to return
All my favours
Like for like
Wound for wound
I also bruise easily;
You shave me so gently
Watching you watching yourself
In the mirror
I would ask you
To murder me the whole while
Slit me from ear to ear
Give me a second grin
Just like a Cheshire Cat
To die at your hands
Release indeed
What other alternative exists
When you no longer need my love
Whatever hurt I had ever caused
Could never equal the pain
You inflict on me so lovingly
As you walk away forever,
With a smile on your lips
And a kiss on your fingertips.

39 thoughts on “Halcyon Days

  1. My favorite poem of yours so far. Immensely quotable; which is always a very good thing to be able to say. My favorite line: “I would ask you to murder me the whole while . . .” It’s a haunting line that might come with me all the way to the bathroom mirror while I’m brushing my teeth before bed.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sometimes I scare myself. I am like where did that come from? I am actually a teddy bear and I come out with all the chilling stuff. I am quite cheerful and yet my writing is darker than I actually am. The mysteries

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

