The Semblance of a Better World

 

6-141C6D37D5412E377D4[1]
William Blake-Newton 1795

The apple never falls far
We are fashioned in the image
Residents of this sham slum
An unfashionable outlier
Enmeshed in illusions
Deceived by the shadow-play
Made pliable and compliant
By the distant promise
Of transitory pleasures
And the uncertainty
Of imagined Utopias
Even our revelations
Of reality across the universe
Under a more fortunate star
Maybe the twin suns of Arcturus
Led us into a labyrinth
Of cunning devised stage
Settings and funhouse mirrors
A parody of a homage
To the semblance of a better world
That we never really hope for
Anyway for anyone at any time
Instead we only desire
To inflict the affliction
That we suffer onto others
A communication of the virus
Of life and existence
Whose whole and sole purpose
Is to feed the malignant entity
With the accumulation of pain.

76 thoughts on “The Semblance of a Better World

      1. I really shouldn’t be, but I just forget the rules. I have to recommend David Lindsay very strange and odd science fiction novel A Voyage of Arcturus, one of the most visionary novels ever. The style isn’t great but the strength of the vision transcends the prose.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is by David Lindsay…you either value it or hate it and I can understand both reactions. C S Lewis cited it as a major influence on his science fiction trilogy though he completely disagreed with the vision and Harold Bloom’s only novel was a homage to it. It is very strange and that’s coming from me.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I do love Blake’s paintings and artwork. There’s something inimitable about him. I love the left to right movement, from high to low, of mass, man, and the creating of the mathematical world. Lovely. I also love “Enmeshed in illusions and deceived by shadow-play” … nice.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Not that it isn’t a good poem, it is… just that the content is rather bleak. I read cynicism sin ‘we only desire to inflict the affliction that we suffer onto others’ … misery loves company? And I actually really like the line. But honestly if the whole thing – life, existence – is all for nought, how does one drag themselves out of bed in the morning?

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Alright, I can get on board with that. You really craft some wonderful pieces. And you find ways to work in all these references so cleverly. Well done. And don’t mind me, I’m a bit grumpy and “peopled out’ if you know what I mean.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. You didn’t overdo it. That’s the kind of poem it is and it works very well. I think we all have periods where we feel like this. Hopefully they don’t last long but nothing is all sunshine and roses. I enjoy your many layers.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is more about how we are wicked because our creator is wicked…I was listening to a song that sampled Christian Bale in American Psycho where he goes ‘I never hoped for a better world for anyone, in fact I wish to inflict my pain on others’ well I do have a macabre sense of humour. But you are right, I was kind of grinning.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh yes, and then the believers try to infect everyone else with their brand of faith but if the one they worship is evil than what use is any of it? Or am I totally off? ๐Ÿ˜› Never saw American Psycho… I watched Beetlejuice half drunk last night though… ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It is quite funny…this is the reason why Christianity won though, Gnosticism is just too pessimistic, we like to think we live in a good world with a loving God… not in a deeply flawed world created by a idiot deluded entity. I like beetlejuice

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hmm, but is it either or? I honestly have no idea but I like to think there are lots of good people in this world, regardless of what they believe. Deeply flawed though…hell yes. I liked Beetlejuice but it was rather pointless. Course, some of the story could have been lost to the bourbon… ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Well the more positive religions always have a problem with the problem of evil. That’s was Gnosticism answer and a good answer it is but not necessarily for winning converts. Maybe the bourbon did take something away though it can also add.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I think fighting it is ok but repressing it just leads to worse things. And pretending it doesn’t exist is just asking for trouble. We are all capable of evil but I think that knowing love is the best “cure.”

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Feather, that is high praise indeed, Dante I wish. Blake is one of the great gnostic and Mystic poets, it really annoys me when people claim he was atheist, he was heretical but deeply religious. Nobodaddy has haunted me for ages. When I was looking for an image I thought of Newton and the apple which of course ties in with The Garden of Eden and so Blake!

      Like

      1. Remember if it’s true it’s not praise.
        You’re right about Blake. How can someone look at his art work or read Heaven and Hell and think that? I admit I found Heaven and Hell hard to read. Isn’t the garden supposed to be in modern day Iran? Fancy a trip?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I absolutely don’t have a problem with atheism, De Sade was the most militant atheist and I write about him extensively, I just object to the appropriation of Blake as some kind of early atheist hero. Blake was an occult artist from a radical non conformism background hence the disdain he held organised religion. He wouldn’t have the artist he was without his occultism. He was a visionary. I first read the marriage when I was about 12, I stole it from a library. I had no clue what it was trying to say and I still don’t really understand but this I realised was genius. The proverbs of Hell are brilliant. Blake and his wife Catherine used to shock the neighbours by walking around nude in their garden, William used to say they were just like Adam and Eve. I certainly do fancy that trip.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. There is entirely too much right with your poem, Mr. Cake. My heart sunk and leapt at the exact same time about 3/4 of the way through and there is an apple now within my chest and I’m finding it hard to breathe..Yes, your writing is good. Never wonder..just keep writing. It’s as if your imagery was just for me. That is how I know I feel. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I only write poetry occasionally when the inspiration comes, there is maybe about 40 poems here. I wrote another one last week called Mirror Image which is a lot less dark that this one. Thanks for the compliments.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

