The Road Is The Same

9-collage-art-illustrations-by-sammy-slabbinck-yatzer1
Sammy Slabbinck

Now that you are on this trip
I know that you want a taste
But please try to remember,
Though I am sure you will forget
That to come up here,
First you have to go down.
The road is the same
As above, so below.

Caution ahead:
Illusory surface
Expect delays
Of a thousand years
The hallucination
Of this instance
Will conflict with
The reality of the next
But keep on keeping on
Carry on ahead
Don’t look back
Because you will only
See indistinct ghosts
Acid etched dissolves
Swerve away from
Distant lights
Pulsing neon red
For everything here
Is all consuming fire
The only constant
Is mutability.

So below, as above
The road is the same.
I will go down so
That I may come up there
I will surely forget,
Though I will try to remember
Because I really want a taste
Now that I am on this trip.

63 thoughts on “The Road Is The Same

  1. I love it. The way it circles around from “you” to “me” – we’re on this trip together, the reader and the narrator. Delays of a thousand years – a blink of an eye when time is irrelevant. But if everything is an all consuming fire, then annihilation is only constant maybe? Anyway, I do want a taste!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The messages finely came through as spam… Thank you so much, some reworked material bit hopefully it works. Heraclitus is the inspiration for this one as well as a traffic sign I saw while driving home late one night. Everything is connected, by fire!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was very late and of course I I have an overactive imagination so I thought it said
        Caution
        Illusory surface ahead
        Expect delays
        April 2015-April 3016

        What it probably said was
        Caution
        Temporary surface ahead
        Expect delays
        April 2015-April 2016

        But I always prefer the myth over reality

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, the journey. Is it but a dream, an illusion, a hallucination? I must say I love the circular movement of this, and the mutability. Although there is the suggestion of stagnation, because no matter where you go, “The road is the same”. We’re all caught in the in-between, wonderful poem Mr. Cake. ~ Miss Cranes

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey there…I really appreciated the poem! It seems to just naturally flow out of the art featured. I had never heard of Sammy Slabbinck before but looked him up. Really unique and mind-bending stuff! Well done, friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much I am glad you enjoyed. The poem came first but the image does fit it very well. I am quite new to his work but I love it, amazing what you can do with old magazines. I feature another one of his images as the header for another poem. I will send you the link, thanks for the comments

      Like

Leave a Reply

